The Executive Committee is composed of the officers plus chairs of committees: 


Officers are elected in November of even-numbered years and serve two-year terms. For 2019-2020:

President: Elizabeth Nathanson


Elizabeth Nathanson holds an undergraduate degree in Business Administration from Rider University in Lawrenceville, New Jersey and a Project Management Certification from the Project Management Institute. After spending many years in the corporate world, she went on to serve the Prince William Symphony Orchestra as Executive Director and 6 years later Executive Director of Reach Out and Read in Washington DC.

1st Vice President: Vacant

2nd Vice President: Vacant

Treasurer: Buffy Ostlund


Buffy Ostlund originally came to Harrisonburg in 1972 to attend Madison College for a degree in social work, and in 1999 completed an MBA from JMU. She is married with 4 children and 12 grandchildren. She is currently retired, and resides on a Christmas tree farm in Singers Glen.  She joined NAACP in the fall of 2017, and was instrumental in the development of the Branch #7132 Doris Harper Allen College Scholarship Program.  In March 2018, she agreed to serve a 2-year term as branch treasurer.

Assistant Treasurer: Vacant

Secretary: Marilynn Jarrells


Marilynn is a lifelong member of the community.  She attended Waterman Elementary, Harrisonburg High School, J.M.U., and E.M.U.   After teaching students with special learning needs for 26 years, she took early retirement.  She is currently working part time at J.M.U. as one of three campus operators answering the main line phone.  

Assistant Secretary: Pat Knight

Committee Chairs

Health Committee: Khadijah Islam, Chair

Education Committee: Chair is vacant

Religious Affairs Committee: Melody Pannell, Chair

Membership Committee: Chair is vacant

Press & Publicity Committee: Chris Bolgiano, Chair

Past President:  Monica Robinson helped found Branch 7132 in the early 2000s, and twice served as president.  Her commitment, energy, and vision have been key to moving the branch forward.